top of page

The Lessons of PERSONAL Growth

There's a quote that really speaks volumes to me. It says... You are under no obligation to be the same you were a year ago, a month ago, or even 15 minutes ago. You have the right to grow. No apologies.


Fierce family,


When I first read this quote it stuck with me for many reasons. All through life growing up we're expected to be what others think we should be. That small indirect category places us in a box we're not deserving of because we know we're so much more than that. At that young tender age of a child it's instilled in us to be whatever is pleasing to the eye, but do you know what that does? It gives those people control over your life and every decision made thereafter. We get so caught up in living in this box of false expectations that we basically become robots of ourselves. Going through life forgetting about what our own personal goals and aspirations once were, giving everything we got to everything we don't want. Dreaming of one day becoming the person we already are deep down inside.


I know all to well what it's like and I'm grateful that my parents weren't the ones who created this negative space I fell into, it was more so of the company I kept. When you're young you go through people pleasing phases and that's where my needs became second to others needs. My then career (transportation contractor) I would travel frequently, and I've visited just shy (46) of all 50 states; pretty badass in my opinion. It was definitely not looked at as a career or liked much by my circle. Maybe because I was always gone when parties or whatever came up or it could've been they never got to travel, either way I did it for me and I enjoyed every moment of it.



I say that to say this, you might begin to think that you lose people through out the course of your life because of something you're doing wrong, No. I've learned over the years that we lose people because we're not conforming to what they want us to be so they can be looked at as the greater subject. When you are great beyond measures and the world loves you, you will see that the ones closest to you are your greatest downfall. We want so badly to be great in their eyes at the things we love to do but all they see too is your greatness and for that reason you must become envied or competition.


This year I decided to take back control, be The BOSS that I am and stop worrying about what others may think, and start worrying about what La Toyia needs to think! No more playing it safe for everyone else's sake, if they're uncomfortable keep going, that just means you have stepped into your season of growth! I could've been so much further in this career had I only put myself first and not allowed others to shape the outcome of my dreams. All that matters now is the fact that I've started and I have so much to give the world; that's exactly what you need to do! Start worrying about your needs and just START!



bottom of page